Posts by doscott

A couple of suggestions:

1 - Do a crontab -e from a root login to make sure you didn't included it there by accident.

2 - Make sure that it is not included in the OMV scheduled tasks from the gui.

I'm pretty sure that these are not the cause, but it doesn't cost anything to check.

Other than that it would seem to be a anacron issue. Perhaps you can create a script that doesn't do anything (maybe touch a file) and include it in the weekly folder and see if it gets executed as well as the balance (you should get an email).

anacron will never miss a run, but it is possible the run didn't complete before you shut down.

Try the following:

Following is the mailout from a successful balance:

I'm not an expert on anacron, but with a bit of googling I've found the following. The command (from a root login):

Code
    ls -la /var/spool/anacron

should give the cron timestamps, something like:

Code
    -rw------- 1 root root    9 Dec  8 08:23 cron.daily
    -rw------- 1 root root    9 Dec  8 08:23 cron.monthly
    -rw------- 1 root root    9 Dec  7 08:17 cron.weekly

which shows time timestamps of the jobs when last run. In the above, the weekly jobs should not run again until on/after Dec 15

I went through this thread again and everything you have shown looks correct. If your timestamps are not current I would assume it to be a permissions problem, but using root as the user I don't see how that would be the case.

I bought my first IBM compatible, a portable with dual 5.25" floppy drives, in 1986. With MS-DOS it was a very reliable setup. It's been downhill every since.

Anyways, the sequence you listed should have worked, but maybe there was an error message you missed. Looks like it should work for you now.

Code
    root@N5550:~# btrfs scrub status /dev/sdf
    scrub status for 3c116019-c3d4-46f4-856c-cd624761c77e
           scrub started at Mon Nov  8 07:54:50 2021 and finished after 06:48:19