Beiträge von T.Underhill

I am new to mergerfs and have made a pool with the LFS (least-free-space) policy.
    My reasoning behind it was that it made sense to keep as much of a specific kind of data on the same disk; for instance all the episodes of a tv series.
    It also makes it easier to find files when a directory/file tree is not equally distributed among all the drives of the pool.
    Also, using most-free-space (or an afterwards balanced mergerfs pool) would create a situation where it is unlikely for a disk to spin down, because it would more frequently be asked for data.

So my question: why would you balance the data among all the drives? What is the advantage?

I had this same problem. I did the steps in post 10 but first it didn't work. What is missing from those instructions is that you have to enable the mergerfs-wait-online.service after you have created it.

Something like:

Bash
    systemctl enable mergerfs-wait-online.service

if i remember correctly. This might be obvious to a lot of you, but for me, having no knowledge of Systemd this was the missing link.

@Revers62
    No, you don't have to make more than one "Shell-Script: / usr / bin / wait-for-mergerfs". I made only one, and it worked. I guess that when the script succeeds, it is safe to assume that all other folders can be mounted as well.

I DO still have a problem with NFS. The service is running, but the /exports/"shared folder" folders are empty! stopping and starting the NFS service using the OMV gui doesn't result in mounted NFS folders.
    Only when I removed one of the four configured folders, and recreated it, were all the folders correctly mounted at /exports/"shared folder".

What can I do to remedy this?

Strange but "fortunate" event last night. My wife spilled water on an electrical outlet en we had a short-out.
    When I switched the power back on, my ESXi server restarted and the NFS datastore connected successfully.

Maybe it just needed a reboot.