Posts by Dagavie

Hey Guys, I am stuck at the start. I installed Docker and activated Docker GUI in the Dashboard, but know I dont know how to grab the docker image and install the container. Could you provide me the neccessary steps. It would be highly appreaciated. Cheers, David

Hey fellow It-Nerds and Nerdellas,
    My name ist David and I am a social worker from germany with a little bit of IT knowledge, but I am not a Power User.
    I only know and learn what I need to run a system that fits my needs. And because of that I fell in love with OMV three years ago when I decided to move my personal data from the cloud to my local network.
    I built a small PC for 500 bucks (Asrock embedded Mini ITX Board Q1900B-ITX with 4GB of RAM and 3TB WD RED as RAID1) and tried different systems on it.
    However after trying out Owncloud and other Groupwares, I stuck with Seafile, because it was the most reliable and powerful cloud solution.
    I reached transfer speeds of 100MB/s and had absolutely no problems in three years of heavy use (more than 8 librariers with more than 2TB of storage from small files like website and wordpress backups to big files like OMF and Media Archives).
    I only run Plex Media Server next to seafile server on omv2. So my laptop, my Digital Audio Workstation and my Office-PC all did backups on the server (n+3).
    That is because I roasted my Harddisk some years ago and that was very traumatic. So three years ago I followed the guide on this forum on how to set up Seafile-Server with nginx and apache.
    I then switched to OMV3 during the time and had no problems at all. However OMV3 has reached EoL and so I had to switch to version 4. I just tried to refollow the guide on how to install Seafile-Server, but was unsuccessful this time.
    So I did a lot of research and learned about docker and the new seafile-server-7 which runs as a docker container and needs separat containers for the database and caching