Posts by nielspauli

Thank you for your comments. I will take a look at the cron / scheduler and see where that gets me.

Seems like the majority of people are using the plugin to extend flash life and aren't worried about logs (includes me)

Well... Perhaps a better alternative to the Flashmemory plugin would be a simple option to disable logging?

As for folder2ram -syncall, it isn't the only option

This option is fine and simple enough for me to try for now. I don't intend to run it more than once a day (I'm not THAT concerned about log files either, but they are nice to have). This is a huge improvement compared to doing nothing, and brings the writes down to a level that is easily acceptable by any SSD.

Agreed. But unless the plugin developer is about to make that change soon, I'm going for the work-around.

Since I'm new to OMV, could you provide instructions on how to add the cron job and the syntax/command. Can it be done directly from the WebGUI?

Thank you.

I'm building an OMV server using an SSD as boot/system drive. The SSD is an SLC industrial drive so it should be able to take lots of writes (although the exact number is not specified). So to keep unnecessary writes to a minimum, obviously, I want to install the flashmemory plugin.

However, I'm having second thoughts. According to this post @ryecoaaron says that writes to the boot drive is only performed at shutdown. This concerns me, as I do not intend to shutdown/boot the server at regular intervals. Thus a power failure would cause all new log entries to be lost.

I would really like to have an option for a regular write to the system drive. I certainly do not think it defeats the purpose of the plugin. There is still a huge difference between 'constantly writing to the system drive' and 'writing e.g. once a day'

Is there any chance that such feature could be added to the plugin?