Posts by rhodesfreak

Hi Geaves and Techno Dad,

@TechnoDadLife congratulations for your awesome youtube videos, I'm a big fan. :)

I read the README file, but I'm having troubles to proceed with the setup as i'm still a newbie with Docker.

Add a new volume mount to your docker run command that mounts your config file: -v /path/to/your/config.ovpn:/etc/openvpn/custom/default.ovpn

Should I add this command to the same window were I add the PUID and the PGID?

Then you can set OPENVPN_PROVIDER=CUSTOM and the container will use the config you provided. If you are using AirVPN or other provider with credentials in the config file, you still need to set OPENVPN_USERNAME and OPENVPN_PASSWORD as this is required by the startup script. They will not be read by the .ovpn file, so you can set them to whatever.

This is clear

Note that you still need to modify your .ovpn file as described in the previous section. If you have an separate ca.crt, client.key or client.crt file in your volume mount should be a folder containing both the ca.crt and the .ovpn config.

This part is not clear to me, in the previous part it's not described how to modify the .ovpn file. Which one would be my volume mount folder?

Mount the folder contianing all the required files instead of the openvpn.ovpn file. -v /path/to/your/config/:/etc/openvpn/custom/

Should I add this command to the same window were I add the PUID and the PGID, like before?

Additionally the .ovpn config should include the full path on the docker container to the ca.crt and additional files. ca /etc/openvpn/custom/ca.crt

How do I add this information in the .ovpn file?

If -e OPENVPN_CONFIG= variable has been omitted from the docker run command the .ovpn config file must be named default.ovpn. IF -e OPENVPN_CONFIG= is used with the custom provider the .ovpn config and variable must match as described above.

This last part is also not clear to me.

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm not able to do it by myself.