Extending/Growing encrypted RAID5 on OMV 3.0.59

• Hello OMV-Forum,

I have setup a fully encrypted OMV installation using this OMV wiki as well as this OMV thread.

Used version is OMV 3.0.59 (Erasmus).

Basically the RAID5 setup is (as I understand)

ext4 on /dev/mapper/abc

LUKS on /dev/mdxxx creates /dev/mapper/abc

RAID (mdadm) creates /dev/mdxxx

Currently the RAID5 is comprised of 4x 4TB HDDs (/, /boot, swap, etc. are stored on a separate SLC-USB-Stick).
    I want to extend the RAID5 with another 2x 4TB HDDs, so it will be a total of 6x 4TB in the end.

Which would be the steps to be taken to add the two new drives to the RAID ?

I am no expert on this, but I guess I would need to
    - add the HDDs to the RAID (mdadm)
    - no changes should be necessary for the LUKS since it operates on the /dev/mdxxx ?
    - extend the ext4 to the full size of the RAID

Could somebody tell me which steps to take (either in the webif or in the CLI) ?
    Also should I add both HDDs at once or add one and then when its finished add the second one the same way ?

Thank you very much in advance!

raisOr

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von raisOr () aus folgendem Grund: fixed some typos...

• Hi raisOr,

So I can't test this right now, which is why I strongly recommend that you try this on a small toy array, just to make sure it doesn't break anything.
    I believe the correct sequence would be only slightly different than what you wrote:

1. Add the HDD into the RAID (mdadm)
    2. Resize the LUKS device (yes, you need to do that):
    cryptsetup resize /dev/mapper/<what>
    By default this takes the full size of the underlying block device (the array), which is what you want.
    3. Extend the ext4 file system to the full size of the LUKS device.

I believe this is all there is to it. Again, not tested; please try it on a test system.