Clueless on how to setup inbound connections with IPv6

• Hi,

I’m having problems setting up inbound connections to Raspberry Pi 3 OMV box. I am not very tech savvy, so please, bear with me:

I had set up my OVM RaspPi server with OpenVPN and duckdns and it worked perfectly. The router (192.168.0.1) forward the required ports to my PI (192.168.0.2) which had a cron script to update duckdns every 5 seconds.

Then I moved to another place and the connection stopped working. After a bit of research I found other users of the same ISP I use complaining about not being able to setup incoming connections as well, and as I could gather from the discussions, it had something to do with my ISP setting IPV4 with fake addresses or something like that (I guess double NAT?).

So I thought that if my dynamic IPv4 address was “compromised”, maybe I could sort my problem with IPv6. The router my ISP gave to me is a Arris TG1692 and it seems to have all the settings required by IPv6. I also checked my public IPv6 address to check if my ISP was already using it and it seemed to be working as well.

So my idea was that if I could link an IPv6 do a dnds, the incoming packets would this time reach my router and would then be routed internally to my IPv4 LAN.

The problem is: I don’t have a clue on how to work with IPv6!

My router has 3 settings under “Lan Settings IPV6”:

• IP Address V6 – it is an editable textbox with a pre-entered IPv6 address which would enable me to alter the IP address if not for the fact that no matter what I type there, after clicking “Apply” I get a message stating “IP address must be in the subnet of ****:****:****:84C0::/64 and the GUI defaults back to the previous address.” (actual numbers replaced by * for security reasons). I tried pinging that address from outside and it seemed to be working and to be actually referring to my router itself.
    • Prefix Length (IPV6) – a non-editable textbox with “64”.