3,5" HDD don't have power (seems)

• Hi guys,

I'm new to this and don't know why my HDD doesn't show in Storage> Physical Disks area.
    I've connected the 3,5" HDD by a powered adapter (2A 12V) to the USB3 port.
    The intent is to use this as a NAS and I stoped the installation because I can't manage to see or add the drive in my web interface of OMV
    What is the way to go ?
    Tks :)

Notes:
    What I'm working with (all new):
    - Raspberry Pi 4 (4GB)
    - 64gb microSD Sandisk Extreme Pro
    - HDD 3,5" WD Red Pro 2TB (WD2002FFSX)
    - USB3-Sata with Power adapter (Ewent EW7018)

I installed the latest version of OMV in the link ISO> Raspberry Pi images> OMV_4_Raspberry_Pi_2_3_3Plus_4.img.xz
    Burn in Etcher for Windows 10
    I run Update manager - check (all)> Upgrade

• Offizieller Beitrag

I've connected the 3,5" HDD by a powered adapter (2A 12V) to the USB3 port.

Have you tried your adapter, power supply and hard drive with another PC? Maybe a Windows PC or a Laptop?
    You wouldn't have to format it - just see if it shows up.

• Have you tried your adapter, power supply and hard drive with another PC? Maybe a Windows PC or a Laptop?You wouldn't have to format it - just see if it shows up.

I've tried with my laptop now in the usb3 port.
    Same result, stop spining in the begining of conection and don't show up.
    Is lack of power? The adaptor is rated for 12V 2A and the HDD shouldn't need so much.

• Offizieller Beitrag

There should be two voltages 5V and 12V. If the power supply is for 12V only, I'm guessing your adapter is passing 5V through from the USB interface.

Is lack of power? The adaptor is rated for 12V 2A and the HDD shouldn't need so much.