Streamed songs end early

• Hi everyone. I'm sure you're all used to this by now, but I'll give the usual disclaimer in that I'm still pretty new to Linux and system virtualization. I've spent a fair bit of time bashing my head against the wall, so I know a little bit, but not much at all.

First things first - I checked to see if there were any stickies or posts showing me the information I should post when asking for assistance. I didn't see anything (I'm really sorry if I missed it) with a list of requirements to post. Is there anything I should add here?

With that aside, here's my problem: I've set up OMV and added the forked-daap plugin to enable a daap server. I'm using Winamp (with an admittedly janky plugin) as my media player, and it frequently cuts to the next song before the current one ends. I confirmed with iTunes that the same thing is happening. When I go back and play it again, though, it plays through the entire thing. This makes me believe it's some kind of buffering issue, or something like that. Does anyone have any advice on how to fix this? I'm totally open to any suggestions of what to try.

About my setup: I'm running Centos 8 on the physical machine itself (repurposed my old desktop), and I've installed OMV using Cockpit as a virtual machine on the physical host. I'm not proficient with docker or any other container technology so I've avoided that (for now).

Any help is appreciated, so thank you all.

• Offizieller Beitrag

You mention a potential buffering issue.

Realize the applicable factors involved:

- There's no mention of RAM

- CPU type

- How much either of the above is allocated to the OMV VM

- What hypervisor is being used.

- No versions of anything is supplied (Other than OMV5.X)

I could go on.

What you're asking would be the equivalent of me telling you, my car has this "funny noise". Then asking, what do you think is wrong?