Posts by geaves

So, there might be a misconfiguration in my docker instance as I tried four of those cups dockers available on docker hub and they all produced the same error

That would suggest there is something residual from each install, if I do docker diff cupsd on that olbat/cups I get this;

so I then do ls -l on /etc

based on the above output C at the beginning of /etc/cups must refernce container, so it's not written to the system.

If you had access to a config file in /etc/cups then that must have been residual.

I'm an IT professional (cyber security currently with 10 years of sys admin) so you can trust that I have a rough idea what I'm doing

TBH more tech nerds on here the better, me I try and work on a process of elimination to try and help, I also have VM with omv5 to try out on which is where I have this docker deployed

I've just redployed that docker with the command you pasted above and the config file is /etc/cups/cupsd.conf.

No it's not!! If you deploy cups as in apt install cups from the cli then yes there is and there are log files, how do I know that because I tried deploying cups as per apt install and the configuration of the cups config file is a BIG PIA.

The installation of the above docker has a preconfigured cups config and it's accessible and can be edited within the cups WebUI :)

This has appeared on here before but there never seems to be a definitive answer, the only difference with yours is that they are online, rather than missing.

In that syslog there is reference to /proc/self/mount now the drives AFAIK should be referenced in that file, also the log states this is not a mount point, so check the fstab, cat /etc/fstab.

I selected the built in network controller and said yes too all the questions after that.

The last question was Wake On Lan which I said yes to.

The first part yes to IPv4 but no to IPv6 and no to Wake On Lan