Posts by LynnReid

Thanks macom for your help. I understand what you recommended...I just don't know how to do it...or where. Everything works fine...I think...except recording. It appears the responder (VO) to your instructions changed ownership of the shared drive. I was thinking I could chmod the folder on the external usb drive and be done with it. I just can't get the syntax right...in the console or ssh via putty.

Could you write out an example of the syntax? I sure would appreciate it.

I am using an old Dell 790 that I have upgraded the cpu and memory. I installed OMV5 from the image obtained on the OMV site. I have two USB external drives...one containing my Media the other Backups. I can write to disk in putty logged in as root. When I try to record a tv show on plex I get a "no write access to destination" I am not a novice but neither am I a pro...especially in Terminal. I don't know where the access issue is...OMV5, Docker, Plex? Or do I just need to change the permissions for the Downloads directory on sdb1 where I want to put the recordings? In any event I don't know how. I would appreciate it very much if someone would write me a terminal command, or tell me where to change the permissions in OMV or just what I need to do. I can change ACL on the shared folder page in OMV5...but I don't know who to give permissions to. My instinct is just to change the directory permissions to the Recordings folder using putty...to make the folder writeable. I have run plex for years without issue before I upgraded to OMV5 and installed it via Docker. Everything else seems to work fine. Thanks!