Beiträge von downtrip

Volker has kindly allowed me to post the URL of a blog I've written about setting up a NAS with OMV to backup my media. I'm a photographer and the primary audience of the blog is photographers, some of whom are not necessarily knowledgeable about computers (I know some who have spent shedloads of money on units like the Drobo DAS's). At least one other photographer I know has been convinced that OMV is a good way forward as a result of the post, so it is good to get information about it out there and publicise it. With current economic constraints I needed something reliable and relatively inexpensive so for me OMV and a modified HP N40L has been a great solution. Anyway, the url is http://deptfordvisions.com/2013/01/backup/ so if you know any photographers looking for a backup solution please pass it on & help publicise OMV :D

Zitat von "KM0201"

[

Explain to me how it's "not quite".. You say you built a NAS, but all you did was buy one off the shelf and install an operating system.

Again, if it does what you want, that's fantastic... but it is what it is, and it's hardly "home brew".

Fair enough, I'm not willy waving. I'll change the 'home brew'... Happy? NB, it was in inverted commas

Zitat von "KM0201"

Then you turned around and bought an HP N40L. That's like saying you built a PC because you bought it w/o an OS.. :)

I still think an HP N40L is limited, but if it meets your needs, that's all that matters.

Not quite... I was comparing it to an off the shelf equivalent like a 4 bay Synology 413 which you can have up and running in minutes. The N40L is a bare box and needs modification as I described to make it work as an acceptable 4 bay NAS, hence 'home brew'. Admittedly, I didn't go the whole hog and build the box, but that is simply convenience.

Regarding limited - sure, if it doesn't do what I want. It does...

The other factor is the cashback (offer has ended I think). Makes for a very cheap NAS :D