Beiträge von BagsOfFun96

So I'm still pretty new to all of this and I'm still learning, but last summer I recently built a NAS to have my own Jellyfin server and for samba. My media library is getting larger and larger and some of it won't be viewed right away. To my understanding, over time bit rot can silently corrupt your data unless the content is accesed fairly regularly. It's not super common, but common enough that I'm concerned about it. So I tried looking into it and some other NAS operating systems automatically scrub the data for you but I can't find any information as to if open media vault does. If it doesn't, is there a way to add a plugin to do this?

My NAS is currently setup in RAID 5 with EXT4. I've activated S.M.A.R.T on all 4 drives and I have it set where it's scheduled to run a long self test once a month, but that basically just checks the drives' integrity and looks for broken sectors and corrects them if possible. That doesn't look for, or fix bit rot correct? Since my server is still relatively new, I know that I shouldn't be too worried about it as it usually takes years for it to happen. But I'm just trying to help prevent a future issue.