Beiträge von nas_noob

Hello all,
    Im new to this whole nas experience. I have a lot of media... TBs of music (im a club dj) and 4TBs of movies/tv shows. Ive always just shared my media from a windows homegroup but things have gotten messy and id like to centrallize everything.
    Ive setup OMV in virtual box using win7 ultimate as the host. Things are running really well right now with this test environment that has 40GB.
    There wasnt a tremendous amount of setup, but id rather not have to re-do everything on a baremetal setup, so Im curious... does it make any sense at all to attach a couple 2TB virtual drives and use it as my everyday nas? Is this a common practice? It seems as though everyone runs virtualbox inside OMV and not the other way around.
    I would love to hear your thoughts on this setup and what kind of reliability and flexibility i can expect.

Thanks, i really appreciate your help.
    Ive followed your steps and with some experimentation its working...but only on the host machine. I can access the webui etc on the host PC, but not on any other PCs connected to the network. Same with my smb shares. Theyre available and accessible on the host PC but not on the network...kinda defeating the purpose of the nas.
    This is clearly related to the .56 subnet so again, im kind of lost with that part. Do you think i should change the virtualbox settings to make the host adapter 192.168.0.xxx, or will that essenially create two dhcp servers on my network causing even more heaadache?

i added a NAt adaptor, and now i can no longer access the webui.
    Its weird, because i took a snapshot before i made the changes, and when i revert to the snapshot, i still cant access the webui.
    I also installed owncloud before the snapshot without restarting so that could have broke it as well.
    help?

edit: update-rc.d -f apache2 remove
    fixed the issue.

Hello all.