Beiträge von LukeB

Hey guys,

Brand new Wheezy install, chucking OMV ontop of it. Followed the installation guide and got to the omv-initsystem command and it isnt really doing anything..

When i press enter, terminal goes to the next line, however it doesnt show me the prompt (i.e. root@blabla:/home/luke:) it just has the square. I can still type things, but nothing happens when i press enter, just goes to the next line.

Given im new to Linux - does this just mean its doing things in the background and I should be more patient? its been about 30 minutes and nothing has happened as yet.

Cheers

Great, thanks for that.

Yep - have that post (installing OMV ontop of Debian) bookmarked for when I get to that point.

In terms of the drive setup - do you have any suggestions?

My initial (rookie) thinking is: Partition my external USB Drive (which is 1tb):

• 50gb partition for Debian + OMV system installation.
    • 2gb partition for swap files, and the
    • Rest of the 1tb drive as a data partition.

Allocate the Data partition for Debian - installing things, playing around, virtualisation etc.
    RAID 5 the 4 x 1tb drives and have them for OMV.

Thoughts?

Hi All,

Sorry for the long post, hopefully you stick with me.

Quick intro / background so that you know my technical background:

I have been into IT / computers pretty much my whole life, and my entire work career (I am 30) has been in IT. I have stayed away from Linux until this point, being a Windows 'purist' until about 2 years ago when I inherited my Fiance's old Macbook. Since that point, I have pretty much tried to avoid using Windows as much as possible (although I have a fondness for Windows 10).

I have been a help desk support agent for dial up internet, desktop technician at a computer shop and a few other technical roles like that. Currently I am a project manager working in the Cloud / Hosting / Infrastructure space. I am not looking to change my career or become an engineer.