Raid5 Disappears After Every Reboot

• Let me preface this by saying that I've been running OMV for about 2 years with a single R5 and NEVER had any problems.

Within the last month, I've had 2 major issues when adding drives to an existing array. Onne (Raid5 Missing, File System Missing) forced me to build a new array on a clean OMV 3 install. For the past 2 years, I've been running OMV 2.

After I built the new array I backed it up to an external drive and to B2(or at least some of the data to B2 - I'm still not 100% sure all the data copied over but that is a different story!.

I moved (not copied) from the external back to the new array and all was great! I then went to add a new drive so I powered off the machine, plugged in the drive, powered it back on --- no array!

I revisited the thread up top and tried to follow some of the same steps, only this time I created a new array. The new array started to resync right away so I felt pretty good thinking the data would come back. It completed and after about 2 hours, the first time, I was unable to mount the filesystem (did I overwrite it when I created the new array?). I did not touch anything with the filesystem in OMV. As a matter of fact, the original one still shows up in the GUI as "missing".

I rebooted the machine at this point thinking it might let me mount the fs after a clean reboot - array is gone, again! I went through the same process and waited another 2 hours. Again, never touching the filesystem. Same thing.

At this point, I started recovering data from my external drive to yet another external drive. I was able to recover some data, but I can tell its not all there. I'm about to start downloading data from B2 but that will be slow and expensive but whatever. I just want my data back!

What am I doing wrong with OMV and arrays -- is my data gone after I created the new array?

Thanks in advance!

• Offizieller Beitrag

is my data gone after I created the new array?