Some questions from new DIY NAS user

• Hi there,

I´m a little new in the community of DIY NAS-Systems. I am from germany. This is my first try to get NAS things working.
    I read a lot about setting up OpenMediaVault and things worked quiet good. I use the ASROCK J3455 ITX with 4GB of Kingston DDR3L.
    Before I got this system, I tried to test OMV 3 and 4 within my Virtual Box under Win10.

With the new hardware,I installed in non UEFI Mode with CMS enabled and WoL on. Also I used parameters acpi=off to get rid of the kernel support problems, the apollo lake cpus have. My installation worked fine and fast this way.

After that I integrated the Extras for OMV 4 Repo and installed the backports kernel over the web gui.
    Also I decided to install autoshutdown and virus tool. I enabled s.m.a.r.t checks.

All that I tested in the virtual mashine at first.

Until that, there were no problems at all.

Than I connected two older drives, a Western 1TB green and a Samsung 2TB HD204 Eco to the system to try a little with shares.

Both of the drives were filled under Windows and have ntfs file systems on it.

I got the mount of the Samsung drive working, after that I was able to start SMB share for the directories.

The first real problem was the Western drive. It was shown under drives and I was able to mount it. After that the drive was shown active. Now I tried to share or open a folder on it, but the list did not show the drive at all.

My first question: Is it a problem to mount shares on ntfs formatted drives in OMV?

The only way to get rid of the problem was to wipe the whole drive and rebuild it with ext4. After that the shares worked again.