Seemingly odd Access Right Management (ARM) behavior?

• Folks,

I apologize if this is the wrong place in the forum to post this, though I am currently only using OMV as an SMB/CIFS share box.

Working with version 0.4.24 (Fedaykin), Linux Kernel 2.6.32-5-486

Discovered something odd about;

Access Right Management | Shared Folders | Add (or) Edit

when you define/edit the Path block for the share you may put in characters that I suspect the Linux build does not like, and yet OMV & Linux will allow them and create the path. You can access the share with SMB/CIFS from other computers.

An example path I created that worked;

\\users\test

this was due to my MS-DOS days as I am still learning Linux. I found this as I am still trying to get miniDLNA to work, which is a whole other story.

Back to the path creation, when I would SSH into the OMV box and try to use FIND to locate the above path or directory, it would fail. I would attempt to CD directory by directory to it and it would also fail. LS though would show it. I noticed that Linux was dropping some of the backslashes as it parsed the entry.

So now realizing the errors I made in the naming of the path I am reworking the issue, fortunately there is not much to do.

But the question remains is it a Linux or OMV fault that allows improper characters to be used in defining or editing the path? Other OS's I have used would not let me create directories or files with improper characters, so I thought Linux or OMV would as well. Or is this something I just have to learn about - the proper way to define/name directories and files?

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks

Dave

• Linux is less forgiving with file names then windows. One thing you should know is don't use spaces in a folder name. The data disk mounts at /media/uuid/.