No ethernet card detected

• Hello everyone,

I am having trouble installing openmediavault on my machine. Below is what I have tried so far.

I am trying to boot from a usb.

as a test I booted openmediavault on an old laptop with no problems (that weren't solved by this forum). So I decided to go and get a dedicated machine. I'm new to building from scratch, so I bought an asus M5A78L-M LX3 motherboard bundle.

Initially I used the usb that was used to boot to the laptop (version 0.4) but that only came up with the message
    "ISOLINUX 4.02 debian-20101014 ETCD Copyright (C) 1994-2010 H. Peter Anvin et al"

This was raised in the post below, but with no solutions.

http://forums.openmediavault.org/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1142

It was suggested to use a previous version (version 0.3). This started the install process but then comes up with the message
    "no ethernet card found"

I can find drivers for windows, but I don't know how to install them at bootup.

Also, I have installed ubuntu to test that the ethernet port is OK and I can connect to the internet with no problems.

After all that, is my problem with openmediavault? do I need to find a driver, if so how do I install? Should I just install as a virtual machine in ubuntu?

Thanks

• Thanks for the quick reply,

The only serial ports I can find on the bios are for the SATA drives. I've turned them off and I still get the same message.

I don't want to get too off topic at the moment, but I'm interested in the "no usb" debate. The smallest usb hdd I have is 120GB and it seems a waste when I have 30-odd usb flash drives lying around, if they fail I'll just reinstall. Also the external hdd needs a a power supply. Admittedly, I'm trying to do this in my house, with 2 users, so outage time is not really an issue.

Thanks