Do I have to delete all shares when a Raid grow is done?

  • Hello,


    I wanted to grow my Raid5 from 3x8tb to 4x8tb.
    So I had to disable all shares. All FTP, SMB and rsync.
    So far so good, but why do I also have to delete all Shared Folders in Tab Access Rights Management?


    I have to do all work for Access Management again.
    And I have to write down all this?


    How can i grow the Raid without all the issues around the Shares?


    Thanks a lot.


    Dennis

    OMV 4.1.11 | Fujitsu DS3231 | Intel i5 - 4570S | 8Gb Ram | 3x8TB | SnapRAID und mergerfs | Megasat SAT->IP Server 3

  • Re,

    So I had to disable all shares. All FTP, SMB and rsync.

    Why that? -> Not necessary!


    So far so good, but why do I also have to delete all Shared Folders in Tab Access Rights Management?

    Why should you do that? -> Not necessary!


    How can i grow the Raid without all the issues around the Shares?

    Absolutely of course!


    Why should anyone kill all Service-(aka customer) related properties, to upgrade the blocklayer? That makes no sence at all ...


    Growing a RAID-array is a two step thing:
    1) grow the RAID-array
    2) grow the filesystem
    nothing more, nothing less ...


    Sc0rp

Participate now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our community!