OMV 5 USB install wont boot from BIOS.

• Hi,

I've been using OMV 5 for a few months now, and overall I'm delighted with it. I have OMV5 installed on a SanDisk USB flash drive with 4 SATA storage drives. Unfortunately, I booted my Haswell i3 server yesterday with a GA-B85-HD3 (rev. 2.0) on the latest BIOS and it refuses to see my install.

In the BIOS I used to see SanDisk Debian in my boot order, but now I only see UEFI:SanDisk, or just SanDisk. Upon boot I get instructed to insert boot-able media. I experienced something like this when first setting up the system. My first install stopped working after I added drives to the server. I got around this by installing the OS with the drives attached.

I have changed every BIOS option I could find, such as legacy mode etc.

I tried to boot the USB in two other computers with the same result. I restored a back up image to another USB drive but it behaves the same way.

I tried using a USB with rEFInd, and this loads OMV on it's default option, so the drive seems to be fine! I would like to be able to boot OMV without using rEFInd if possible, but I'm out of my depth unfortunately. I assume I need to edit GRUB or something, if you know how to help I would appreciate it .

I'm a Lunix noob so I guess it's an opportunity to learn (slowly).

• Hello,

I installed OMV 40 days ago (on another system) and today after shutdown it down i was unable to boot again into the system.

The message read "no option to boot to"

With the help of this and the other post mentioned above i was able to fix the error. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

With my little to none linux knowledge i understand the first command creates a directory..ies and the second copies a file from one folder to another with a different name, although i have no idea how/ or what caused the problem(missing file).

If anyone can tell us as to learn please do so! Again thank you.

Odroid-HC4, Debian Buster, OMV 5.x, Docker, Portainer, Syncthing, Nextcloud