Cant Access SMB Shares from W10 after Clearing ACLs

• As byline shows I am new to OMV.I had some aspects of SMB sharing working from W10, but only if my SMB OMV share was set to "Guests Allowed". I really dont want that, but want usr/password required to access share from both W10 & Linux. I used the ResetPermissions plugin to remove ACLs. From Linux (Mint 17.3) everything works as I am asked for credentials and given access.

From W10 I now only see the server name under windows networking. Windows Security asks for credentials (same as used on Linux) and denies access. This vwesion of W10 says it has SMB2 enabled. This has to be some stupid W10 security think I just cant remember how to set up correctly.

On OMV SMB Settings I have HomeDirectories/Browsable checked & AdvancedSettings/SMB2,Enable NetBIOS, Enable WINS server checked,

On a side note, who is suppose to be the OMV owner of the mounted filesystem structure? And why would that be "root"?

Any help is appreciated.

forum.openmediavault.org/wsc/index.php?attachment/34271/

This problem would seem to be W10 specific, as a W11 notebook just directly opens the share without asking for credentials. (Albeit a slight delay while W11 likely negotiates with OMV over the W11 login credentials.)

On further investigation, another W10 laptop accesses the OMV shares with no credential requests, so the problem is specific to something in the configuration of THIS specific W10 desktop machine. It is likely right in me face but I cant see it!

Ok, Windows sucks I know. After a reboot this W10 desktop machine is accessing OMV without asking for credentials. I wish I knew why or what that changed.

3 Mal editiert, zuletzt von kjo99 () aus folgendem Grund: Further information/Resolved

• votdev

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
  • kjo99

Hat das Label gelöst hinzugefügt.
  • Zitat
    Krisbee