Beiträge von monitor

Today my raid drives went off line and as a Raid newb, I am lost on what I can do to recover.

Meanwhile, I have bought a set of new drives to replace all 3 over time, but right now I can't even get anything at all.

I can open a putty terminal to the system.

I also have access via a direct terminal, but I have no idea regarding the process of recovering my data.

There are some backups, and many projects which are stored on my Raid system are cloned to several PC on my LAN.

At worst I will lose much of the git history, but I would prefer to restore the full system - with some help from the people on this forum, I hope.

I have looked at several threads here and on other places which try to talk users through recovery, but each case seems subtly different and I don't feel brave enough to go it alone..

Another option, but as a noob, and not really wanting to "fix things that ain't broke", I need to make sure I can schedule enough time away from my usual work to 'upgrade' to something new and untried (for myself) such as even a new way to make backups.

Will certainly give it a shot on the next open 'slot'

Thank you.

BernH: The fact that I did no stop OMV, would probably explain the issues I was having.

Thank you for pointing that out.

I am running 6.?? but IIRC, my previous look at the backup plugin left me with the wrong impression. Will have to reread the plugin docs again.

Search the forum and the omv-extras wiki for updated procedures. If you can't find information or have questions, ask your questions.

Don't follow outdated videos. The author will no longer support you, try it and you will see the result.

That is what I had intended /wanted to do with my question.

Much of what I had found regarding 'backups' (and the backup plugin) only seems to back backup parts.

Being a relative noob to OMV, I figured, that procedure ought to have stood the test of time since it only uses 'standard' linux commands AFAIK :/