Beiträge von DjoeC

That is what the plugin does for the CHANGE_TO_COMPOSE_DATA_PATH string. I don't have a problem adding more but I just want to know more about how it would be used.

As mentioned: I would like to use "available items" such as the COMPOSE_FILENAME to use as a "derived" variable (not Global, not Local) to use in compose files. In my case - and I assume many other users work the same way - the COMPOSE_FILENAME shows up again in the compose file. I hate strings which could/should be variables ;)

For me: I'm relatively new to docker so for now this is the only item I've identified which would make my (and possibly others) life easier / compose files more flexible to use. And maybe there are other ways of accomplishing multiple unique containers based on the same compose file, haven't found that yet but cenrtainly my knowledge is lacking there....

If you add a variable I would be very happy about it, if not - no hard feelings, for now I was checking the options.

Thanks!

Interesting, tested with

COMPOSE_FILENAME=joomla01

in global environment variables.

version: "3.8"

services:

"${COMPOSE_FILENAME}":

hostname: "${COMPOSE_FILENAME}"

image: "joomla:5"

container_name: "${COMPOSE_FILENAME}"

environment:

- PUID=${PUID}

- PGID=${PGID}

- TZ=${TZ}

- "JOOMLA_DB_HOST=${DB_HOST}"

- "JOOMLA_DB_NAME=${COMPOSE_FILENAME}"

At first glance by checking: all substitutions work properly except services Additional property ${COMPOSE_FILENAME} is not allowed on the services tag.

But I guess the answer is clear: What I would like is not currently possible. It would require pre-processing the compose file before handing it to over to docker.

Thanks for your help and giving me insights.

Then you can use the other solution that I already gave you. Create an environment variable in the global environment variables file and use that variable in compose files. As explained here. https://wiki.omv-extras.org/do…l_environmental_variables