Beiträge von Mousla

As a last "patch" solution if you can't find anything else, you can schedule a task that touches a file on the hard drive every so often. That should prevent it from going to sleep.

Is the SMART setting "check interval" the same thing? Also a friend proposed to periodically run a sudo -mount a (can i do that from the Anacron plugin on omv? I bugs me that it is unstable, I was off for a couple of days on a wooden cabin where I would just watch something on plex and the thing just crashed after I left :(

I used "dd full disk" too ( use dd to clone the entire drive to a compressed image file) on my RPi to safeguard a planned upgrade but the window closed after some long time hence I don't know if it completed successfully.

Is there a way to see a log or check the compressed image file for completion?
    I've opened image file with 7-zip on Windows and that succeeded.
    Is that a good enough indicator for a good image?

Hi everybody, newbie here.

Excuse my ignorance, but if i need to restore my system (i use ddfull and it creates the .gz and also the other files - blkid, fdisk, grub, grubparts, and packages) and say I need to burn these into a new sd, am I supposed to burn only the gz file? all of them? in what order?

I keep a spare sd card for that purpose, my first attempt was not successful. any tips?

*UPDATE*

I have set the interval check in the SMART settings to check every 1800s (default) in "never" and it is stable now. As far as it concerns the spun up of the drive, I have one HDD (the other is SSD) and it does not seem to be uncomfortable with the check, I did not even hear the disk spinning. Never - Poll (check) the device regardless of its power mode. Never - Poll (check) the device regardless of its power mode. Never - Poll (check) the device regardless of its power mode.