Clone or Backup with Rsync

• Hi

First let me thank VolKer for the wonderful project. I am using for a while omv and i am very impressed. The only thing that is missing was backup and restore.
    So i was searching for a way to backup and easily restore in case that my cf card was crashing. I saw an article in google that i can mirror a hard disk with rsync. I tried it and it is working very good until now. Let me say that i am not a linux expert and so i am waiting for suggestions or improvements. I am testing this in virtualbox with two disk 2GB each
    So how did i do it. We assume that the omv is installed it in /dev/sda disk and the new disk is /dev/sdb. You will have to change the disks accordingly your setup. I advise everyone to remove the storage disks before doing anything and make a full bakup.

We plugin the second disk to the computer

We copy the partition table from the first disk to the new one for example.

Zitat

sfdisk -d /dev/sda | sfdisk /dev/sdb --force

Format the root partition on the new disk

Zitat

mkfs.ext4 /dev/sdb1

Format the swap partition on the new disk

Zitat

mkswap /dev/sdb5

make a directory /mirror

Zitat

mkdir /mirror

We find the uuid for the disk /dev/sdb1 with the following command. We are going to use the uuid from the second disk to mount it in the mirror directory

Zitat

blkid

The output of the above command should be

Zitat

/dev/sda1: UUID="e950ee97-27fd-4596-b0ce-b85d8480eacd" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/sda5: UUID="93d5cd61-cc4f-4251-8d8d-060adb500b5e" TYPE="swap"
    /dev/sdb1: UUID="5b11c396-d08f-4b24-a2ac-081f0a65a7dd" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/sdb5: UUID="eed9ce7f-b2f4-47db-88ae-42e5eeea7b1d" TYPE="swap"

edit fstab and right before

Zitat

# >>> [openmediavault]

add the following

Zitat

UUID=5b11c396-d08f-4b24-a2ac-081f0a65a7dd /mirror ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1

Be sure that you change the uuid with yours.

mount the second disk

Zitat

mount -a