Openmediavault usb install headaches

• Hi all,

It's no wonder people hate linux. Anyway I'm a unix admin and this OMV is a pain.

1. USB boot hung at ISOLINUX. Found out OMV has a serial console default setting. Had to remove it and remove serial port in bios.
    2. No keyboard after boot. Lost all usb devices after I hit 'Install'. Had to fiddle with usb legacy in bios and change usb ports.
    3. Ran installer with 1 hard drive. It somehow only wanted to install on the usb and complained there isn't enough space. I didn't even get the window to select which hard drive I wanted it on. I changed console and fdisk shows the drive. Who knows...

What's going on with this release? I ran omv 0.3 without issue and this is a buggy mess.

Can anyone help me pick the hard drives? I had it on AHCI and changed it to legacy IDE. Still nothing.

Thanks in advance

• Offizieller Beitrag

1. The serial console was meant to help some but hurts other. Lose-lose situation.
    2. What motherboard are you using? i've never had this problem or even heard someone complain about it.
    3. The drive isn't empty (no partitions). I would definitely recommend AHCI. With OMV, you are supposed to install with only one drive. It will show the drive select window if you have more than one empty drive.

Buggy mess??? These were decisions not bugs. It works great for most. If the drive shows up in fdisk, then go to the second console and dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=100 will blank it (as you probably know). If it doesn't show in the installer, reboot and it should.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.6 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!