Question: OMV + KVM, Raid/Smart question

• Hi All,

I've been using Freenas for a couple years and have been pretty happy with it, but think I'm going to rebuild my NAS using OMV as linux is a bit more familiar to me than BSD.

One option I really like the idea of is using KVM (possibly Proxmox?) and run OMV as a guest within it. This would allow me some flexibility in adding a tv headend guest later if needed without mucking around too much on the client that's running the NAS.

That said, I'm trying to figure out if there are any major drawbacks?

Mainly:
    1 - Does SMART error reporting still working when OMV is a guest OS?
    2 - Do power states/hard drive shutdowns still work properly as well?
    3 - Alternatively.. I THINK I'm seeing that some people run OMV as the HOST OS for KVM guests? If this is possible, perhaps this would be better (as OMV would have direct access to everything instead of it being virtualized.

I will be installing this on modern hardware (ivy bridge) that supports VT-X (only hardware detail that I think may be relevant).

I appreciate any responses, and I apologize for my first post to be a question. Just wanting to understand any trade-offs before I start.

Note that I did google for this and found others asking similar questions, but no specific answers.

Thanks again!

• Offizieller Beitrag

I don't think the guest could do that things you want. Why not use OMV as the host with the virtualbox plugin for clients?

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.6 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Thanks, exactly what I was looking for.