How secure is my current setup of OpenMediaVault

• Hi all,

First of all I would like to thank Volker and all other folks here in OMV for a very fine piece of software that you've got here. I've been running mine for several months already without any hitch.

I've almost migrated all my and my family's digital files in our OMV powered NAS but a thought nagged me about how safe it is. News about cryptolockers and ransomwares popping out everywhere has left me worrying about how vulnerable my system from it.

My current setup is as follows:

1. NAS --> Wifi and LAN Router --> Modem router --> Internet (No port forward whatsoever. I basically have double NAT)
    2. Transmission is running all the time;
    3. NAS can email about system resources, power outages, and system updates;
    4. I have a very limited plugins enabled i.e. eXtplorer, ZFS, Snapraid and Transmission;
    5. OMV updates is only set to download. It doesn't auto install.
    6. I ran a port scan using this, http://www.whatsmyip.org/port-scanner/ and no ports are open.

Given my circumstances above, can I please have your opinion on what are the possible attack vectors that may affect my system.

Is it possible that by running Transmission my system will be compromised? I have read somewhere of a Transmission update for Macs containing malwares.

What are the chances of my system being compromised should I update my system only after every month or so?

Any suggestions on how I can harden my system against any possible attack or something?

Note: Of course, I also have offline backups for my important and irreplaceable files. :)

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Takur

• Offizieller Beitrag

Your system sounds safe but I don't know much about vulnerabilities on transmission. Maybe use transmission in a docker instead??