NAS HDDs and spindown

• Hi there, I am new to OMV and so far I really really like it!

Now, right after setting up my new small file server based on an Odroid HC2 as a replacement for my Raspi 2 + external USB, I found out that the drive I intended to use has this issue with APM (or lack there of) where I can't control its spindown options.

The drive is a 1 TB Green Western Digital that has been used very little as an offline backup drive. It is small but this is my way to force myself to avoid having huge amounts of critical data in spinning drives.

So, after quite some reading and testing I wanted to ask for some feedback on this, although I know it is a subjective topic...

I want to have the drive spindown after two hours, the web GUI settings do not force the drive to do that, and I used WDIDLE3 to disable the idle timer but in fact this only changed the default 8 seconds value to 3 minutes.

Thus, I am evaluating this options:

- Getting a new hard drive that obeys what it is told, but for budget restrictions I am looking into a Seagate IronWolf, which "appears" can have it's default timer disabled whith Seagate Tools.
    As I don't really like Seagates there is a not too expensive WD Purple that I could get, but I couldn't find details regarding this idle timer issues...

- Using a cronjob to continuously query the disk with hdparm, but then the drive makes a little activity noise (a normal one) which suggests to me some wear on the drive.

- Investigating some hints suggesting the use of udisks2 instead of hdparm. But this might end up being more expensive in time than getting a different drive in money.

So, has anyone managed to have a Green or an IronWolf no to spindown?

Is it reasonable to think that "hdparm -i /dev/sda" causing a quite disk sound means I would be wearing the drive?

Any experience with "udisks2" as a solution for this? That could be applied to either a green or an seagate?

Thanks in advance!
    H

• Offizieller Beitrag