DIY Home Nas help

• Hi,

I want to build a home nas out of an old computer and I have allready made succesful tests with OMV.

The specs are:

I5 4750

Asrock H81-VG4

a Crucial MX 240GB SSD

Some old LC-Power 420Watts

and two old Sata HDDs (1. 350Gb 2. 250Gb, running in Mirror so 250Gb usable)

they do reach the 110MB/s Gigabit speed just fine though.

Of course those specs were fine for testing but I want to upgrade the machine.

I heard somewhere that these cheap onboard Realtek Gigabit chips are no good so if that is true what is a good intel gigabit card that won't break the bank?

On the PSU side I though of a pure power 11 400W from be quiet.

For the hdds I thought of 3x 3TB running in Raid 5

It's not like the nas has to run 24/7 it is just a kind of extenden storage, a place where me and my family can back up data. So It'll be shut down for the night for example.

Since I'm quite new to this what would you suggest to me?

Thanks!

• The Realtek Onboard LAN should be sufficient, there is no need for an Intel LAN adapter. Many if not most NAS have a Realtek NIC onboard (such as my TerraMaster F5-221 with an Intel CPU, that works just fine with GBit speed). If you need a second NIC for link aggregation, I would go for a dual NIC LAN card and disable the onboard solution. Realtek is fine thow also for that one.

Your second solution with the 3 3 TB HDDs is fine, I use a similar configuration with three 3 TB WD RED harddisks as a aRAID 5 configuration in my TerraMaster F5-221 server with Debian 11 Bullseye and OMV 6 Shaitan alpha, together with pi-hole and miniDLNA. Was a pain in the butt to get it going (pi-hole failed to install - the key is to install lighttpd first before OMV and pi-hole), but it works fine now.

A desktop PC wastes a huge amount of energy - as long as you don't need the additional power of a Core i5 for example for virtual machines. I would opt for a NAS with Intel CPU like I did, that will safe a huge amount of power on the long run.