openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

News

• New

Hey all,

Just FYI, I have another OMV server that I've been running for several years now. I have always been able to find solutions to the very few problems I've encountered along the way. Obviously an awesome product. The issue I'm seeing seems to be fairly new since there is not much in the forum/anywhere about it. So......

Having problems with shared folders as described in this post. I made the necessary changes to /usr/share/openmediavault/mkconf/system.d/sharedfolders but it apparently did not resolve the problem.

I read the same threads mentioned in that post and I do have the VirtualBox plugin installed with a VM running. OVM was installed several days back and updated along the way. Created several shared folders but started seeing problems creating or removing them yesterday. Turning VirtualBox off seems to satisfy things but then I see issues trying to turn VirtualBox back on. Actually rebuilt the VM and used a different shared folder for VirtualBox. None of that…
  • New

About 3 years ago i migrated from FreeNAS to OMV 2.0 and as part of that migration shifted my data from ZFS to EXT4 via a long and arduous format and copy pattern with N+1 drives setup.

Fast forward to last week where we had a power outage and the USB stick running my N54L decided to call it quits and didn't come back on restart. No matter, i had a backup.

But i decided to take the opportunity to migrate to OMV 4, and downloaded 4.1.11 ISO earlier tonight and installed it on a new USB stick. After having to do the /dev/sda and sdb grub shuffle I am successfully in the GUI.

However, while the GUI sees all 4 drives in the NAS, and happily mounts one of the partitions (the newest), the other 3 are nowhere to be seen.