My NAS build proposal, Plex server required

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• My OMV NAS build proposal, Plex server required

I've been running an old Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials box. I'm not a server expert at all, this was just a hobby project. The server is getting old, though, and I'd like to setup a NAS to replace it as I do not really need all the options of a server.
      I was thinking of buying a ready-made Synology at first, but that is expensive for what I get in hardware, also I'd like to keep with the DIY theme.

I would like to upgrade my current 17TB to a lot more. Either 48TB or 60TB, depending on the RAID version I choose. I do have al large collection of media files ^^ . Because of that I would like to run Plex Media Server on this machine. Currently it's running on my daily driver, not ideal. I would like to run backups of three windows PC's/laptops and a Macbook Pro.

So this is the build I am proposing:

- MSI X470 Gaming Pro, socket AM4 motherboard
      - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, (I chose this 'G' version, because I think I'll need the integrated graphics for the Plex media server. Also I don't need a seperate graphics card now)
      - Noctua NH-U12S cpu-koeler (the Ryzen has a boxed cooler, but I hope the Noctua will be more quiet)
      - Corsair 32 GB DDR4-2666 (is 32 GB enough?)
      - Sharkoon WPM Gold ZERO 550W
      - WD Blue SN500 NVMe, 250 GB SSD (for OMV)
      - 6 x Seagate IronWolf ST12000VN0007 12TB
      - an older but quiet miditower I have lying around with enough place for the HDD's

I'm new to OMV and I hope to get your input on a few questions

- has anyone tried the Ryzen 2400G for OMV and plex? Any issues to be expected?
      - Would this build work for Plex trancoding of 3 1080p streams or 1 4K stream?
      - is 32 GB RAM enough for this build?
      - is putting the OS on the NVMe drive a good option?