Norco ITX-S8 nas build

• Hi everyone. I'm new here and have known about omv for some time. I actually it because I used freenas way back when the developer was still working there and left. I apologize but I can't remember your name. So although I knew about it, I never got a chance to use it, but I always wanted to give it a go as I liked what I saw. Anyway, I'm starting a new build for a nas and wanted to show you what I am starting and also ask about omv. Does omv support virtualization like say running a xen server, vmware, or whatever the case may be? I'm sorry if it's new question, but I just haven't used it yet. As you will see I'm just beginning this project and still need to figure the hardware I want to use. I already have a xen server machine set up but I figure if I could do this on a nas with enough space, that would be cool too. One less computer I need to have on. Anyway I don't want to make this intro too long so here's my blog where you can check out my build.
    http://jaimenow.blogspot.com/p/norco-itx.html
    Jaime

• Offizieller Beitrag

Nice review. Looks like a decent case. I wouldn't worry about the horizontal position. Lots of cases mount the drive horizontally. As long as you have enough airflow, they will be fine.

Does omv support virtualization

As the host or the guest? As the host, there is a virtualbox plugin. There is also a thread on the forum about using kvm. As the guest, I have run OMV in virtualbox, kvm, VMware, and hyper-v.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!