"Chap" - My 15TB+ NAS

• ## 2013/05/06 17:11 Thread started
    ## 2013/05/07 00:23 Screenshots added (Mounting the first four Drives, one bad Drive, w/ old Controller)
    ## 2013/05/08 03:31 Added Plugins, purpose, future plans etc.
    ## 2013/06/XX WoL is now running

Hey Guys,

i thought today is the Day I will start my own Thread here.

As a little Background, i've been using Linux for over 3 Years now at home for my NAS and used OMV since Version .2.
    So iam aware what it means to setup SMB Shares by hand etc. etc.

Specs Today:
    Core i5 650 @ 3,2GHz
    4GB RAM
    500GB System Drive
    RAID Controller: (LSI) 3ware 9650SE-16ML (upgraded 04/2013 from 9650SE-8LPML)
    5 x WD RED 3TB as a Hardware RAID 5 - 10,91TiB net.

The Story behind

So, Some Months ago i had moved from an old Desktop Case which held a 4x2TB RAID5 to the Xigmatek Asgard 381.

This Case provides easy acces to all my Drives and also the place for two 120mm Fans in front of all the Harddrives attached to it.

After moving to the new Case i got some problems regarding an unusable Array because one Drive Failed and another one got disconnected - I thank Josef from the LSI support here, thanks to him i could recover all my Data.

My other Problem was that my Disk Usage was already over 5TB so i had to expand my Storage.
    I was looking at the Prices for the WD RED 3TB some weeks and waited for the point where i could order 4 Drives for under 600 Euros. So it was close before Easter when i ordered the 4 Drives.
    Unfortunately one Drive got damaged at shipping and the Dealer refused to resend a new Drive right away.
    At this Point i didn't wanted to wait over the long Holidays to get a new Drive, so i went to my local Dealer an picked up one "replacement" Drive.
    With these 4 Drives i then build a new RAID 5 and filled it with my Data.

A few Days later, the replaced Drive from the online Dealer came, and i thought what should i do with it?