Join OMV5 a Domain

• Good morning, I've been using OpenMediaVault for a few years now and have some version 2 and 3 running integrated into the domain using winbind. However I am having a problem with integrating OpenMediaVault 4 and 5 in the domain using realmd.

I followed the tutorial: https://forum.openmediavault.o…ory-Integration/?pageNo=1

With that I was able to integrate OMV into the domain, but I couldn't pull users to the OMV web interface.

When trying to add the extra options of samba, it always gives some error, someone who has running OMV 4 or 5 on Samba4 or AD, would you pass me the step by step you used?

• hi tacioandrade

I've translated (using google) your script. I ran into issues with the script itself.

I'm using OMV 5.6.1. I get an error when I do a testparm and net ads testjoin.

And I don't get any changes in the UI. Any ideas whats happening ?

After google translation, I have to the following description of one of the steps:

Enable samba and add this in the OpenMediaVault samba Extras field via the graphical interface:

This is what I did, I enabledSMB/CIFS and added the added the displayed text into the Extra values field.

Was this the correct way to do it ?

• I'm trying to connect to my active directory server, and omv is joined to the domain. I can get the id etc of a user in the domain/ad.

I was expecting some kind of UI change, but I think I might have misunderstood what the end result exactly is :)

When I click 'add' in the user management page, I can then under the group tab, see all the groups locally on the omv server, but also the groups from the AD. I guess that when I set up something, that requires a user, I would then be albe to select from the omv user list and the ad list.

I'm going to try that now...

• Offizieller Beitrag

What type of ad are you using? Windows, samba or one of many others.