Suggestions? - How to add a new HD and split media between 2 drives?

• I'm still new to OMV, maybe the answer is obvious and I just don't know about it. I'm using Kodi and Emby.

I have a 3tb drive that is nearing capacity w/ Movies and TV shows. I purchased a 4tb drive and plan on installing it, I'm curious what is the suggested way to turn this into 7tb for my media? Is it common practice just to start placing media on the new 4tb and keep in mind everything on this drive is added "post April 16". Then simply add the new drive/location to my Kodi and Emby?

I don't care for parity or data recovery. I just want to make sure however I set it up now will not bite me in the ass a few yrs down the line or if/when I add a 3rd media drive.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I would try the unionfilesystem plugin with mergerfs.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.6 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

Symlinks served a purpose when we had problems with aufs and mhddfs. mergerfs is fast, super stable and very flexible.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.6 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• I was playing w/ union on a couple flash drives, and wow super easy to set up. A couple questions:

• It generated a folder name of af0d0a41-600e-45a8-bd19-b9d3cf1ff37, can I rename this?