OMV5 Cant detect all HDD's

• Hello All

I've been using OMV since version 2 but i'm new to this forum.

Ive tried to install OMV5 (clean install of course as instructed) and i discovered that it can only detect 5 out of my 8 HDD's.

The previous versions have all been fine.

I'm not a Linux expert but i have a bit of experience and i can usually overcome any issues by searching the web but this time to no avail.

Interestingly i found the same issue when i updated my version of GParted Live USB and used it on the same machine.

So obviously i'm thinking that this may be a broader problem for Debian based systems.

So the question is, does anyone know if this problem can be resolved somehow as i am keen to keep OMV up to date if possible as i had to 'roll back' to version 4 to get my NAS up and running again.

Many Thanks in advance

Nevy P

• Offizieller Beitrag

What hardware? What is the output of:

blkid

fdisk -l | grep -w Disk

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

The good news is that Linux sees all of the drives. I can't explain why OMV doesn't. They don't have the same partition labels which is usually the problem. The bad part is that they are ntfs instead of a native Linux filesystem.

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

• Ok

Thanks ryecoaaron

I decided to use NTFS for cross-compatibility and i've never had any issues so far and also if i wanted to use a Windows-based NAS/Server solution in the future i'd able to keep the data on the HDD's.

So what is your opinion ?