JBOD = Linear?? Can I add additional HDDs in the future?

• Hello friends of OMV :)

As the title told, i am not sure if OMV supports JBOD?... I'm new at OMV, but as I found in the web, JBOD is called "Linear" in OMV.

Is this right?

And if i choose "Linear", and make a huge Volume... Can a add additional HDDs in the future to expand these Volume?

Also don't know how to change a HDDs in the future to a larger one...

I know the disadvantages of JBOD. But I use my OMV NAS only as a BackUp NAS and don't need another RAID.

I want to use the full capacity of all my HDDs one after another... and I want to expand these Space in the future by changing some HDDs or adding new ones.

Can anyone tell my if this is possible in OMV and if Linear = JBOD :)

Thank U

Kind regards

7.0.4-2 (Sandworm) // ASRock J5040-ITX with Intel(R) Pentium(R) Silver J5040 CPU @ 2.00GHz // be quiet! ATX 500W (BN46) // 2x4GB Samsung M471A5244BB0-CRC

Fractal Design Node 304 // 4-Port PCIE to SATA 3.0 ControllerCard // 1x 128GB SSD for OS and 2x 4TB, 1x 5TB and 3x 8TB HDD as one big fuse.mergerfs space (no need for raid parity)

• Offizieller Beitrag

Can anyone tell my if this is possible in OMV

No

Linear = JBOD

Yes

To answer in more depth,

can you expand the capacity by adding more drives -> No

can you change drives to increase capacity -> No

Another option might be to use the unionfilesystem plugin this uses mergerfs and information can be found here various options can be set within the plugin itself.

• Thank u for the answer and informations.

I just give mergerfs a try and it looks good.

But do you know what happend if I loose one of my HDDs?

I am okay with loosing one HDD with its data's. There is my productive Synology NAS and another Backup on external drives (physically separated).

I just don't want to loos ALL my data (like in RAID 0).