Raspberry UPSPack experience

• Hi,

I am relatively new to omv, so thought I would share an aspect of my build which was fuelled by an electrician cutting the power to my mad scientist lab by accident and then switching it back on again, along with killing my boot drive in the progress.

I quickly decided that the electrician had done me a favour, by causing a minor disaster while my NAS build was quite young, rather than waiting for a more natural power failure or power cut and looked for options.

I initially searched google, youtube, and this forum, and came across one of these on amazon for sub £20

A RPi UPSPack Standard V3P which seems to be made by Raspberry Pi Club in China and comes with a 4000 to 10000mAh battery.

Power is fed in via a normal RPi4 charger, which it uses to charge the battery, and once it has recovered the battery to about 50% or more, it then powers the Pi as well.

This version (and some others) has a header which can be connected to the GPIO pins of the Pi, to supply power, a shutdown output to the pi, and communications to report to the pi on the battery health and level.

This particular version also has a header for a switch and a power led for external mounting onto a case, and 4 holes for standoffs which line up with the RPi4 so it can be stacked with the Pi.

The output is 5v (5.1v when I measure it) and at 3 amps, so more than enough to keep the Pi happy.

Both my main file server NAS and my backup NAS (both OMV) are in Argon cases with built in heat sink, intelligent fan and M.2 SSD, as well as external 3.5 inch magnetic HDD (which is a technical problem yet to sort out).

But my long term plan is to put both these RPi, another running a 3cx phone server, and a final one running open canary, with the Argon40 fan hats, M.2 USB adapters, the hard drives and these one of these UPS for each RPiinto a 1U 19 inch rack enclosure with internal power supplys.