What filesystem to use to backup data stored on OMV and be able to mount and access the drive with Windows 11.

• I have been running OMV for a few years now and love it. Last week my 43TB SAS RAID drive died and I pooped myself. I replaced the SAS RAID controller and was able to get my RAID back online. I have ordered a Toshiba 16TB SATA drive that I would like to use for backing up my main data store. I love OMV but live in a Windows world and have several Windows workstations. What is the best way to do automatic backups to the 16TB drive and be able to read it on a Windows 11 workstation? I do not need historical file access, whatever is on OMV at the moment I would like mirrored on the Windows readable drive. Once a day backup drive syncing should be plenty.

I have read posts that NTFS drives can be mounted on OMV but really only for reading because NTFS does not support ACL's.

I have read the ext4 drives can be mounted on windows with "extra software".

What app should I use to do my periodic sync from my data drive to the Windows readable backup drive? RSync? Something else?

Is there something I have missed?

Should I just put the 16TB drive in a Windows workstation and use a ROBOCOPY job to keep it in sync with my OMV shares over the network?

I am pretty much a novice with Linux but can follow online tutorials well enough to get most apps running. I am currently running Docker/Portainer, PLEX, CloudCMD, Transmission-openvpn, HomeAssistant and zwave-js in containers on my OMV server. My OMV hardware is an old AMD workstation motherboard with 64MB DDR3 RAM, some AMD processor, 10Gbs Mellanox nic, Avago / AMI / Megaraid SAS raid controller with 8tb SAS drives in RAID 5 with a hot spare. I am currently running OMV5 but will upgrade to OMV6 if needed.

P.S. I do currently keep multiple backups of all my important files like photos and personal files but the thought of losing my entire PLEX media library was not a happy thought. :(