Problem booting OMV

• Hello everybody,

I'm new to OMV, but not new to NAS or computers. I'm also to some extent familiar with Linux.

So I installed OMV 7 on my old Qnap NAS TS-259. This is still x32-bit, so I first installed Debian and then OMV using the install script.

Boot device is a USB stick with 8GB (stick is USB 3, while USB port of NAS is USB 2 - just in case this does matter)

My installation basically works fine and is working as expected.

BUT every now and then I have problems booting the NAS. It either boots fine or it hangs after "initial ramdisk ...".

After loading the ramdisk the screen goes black with just a blinking cursor in the upper left corner.

I know that this is expected behavior - but it's also expected to show the login screen after maybe half a minute.

And here the NAS get's stuck.

I tried removing the "quiet" parameter from GRUB, but that didn't help anything.

When it boots, I get all the expected messages. If it doesn't boot, I don't get any of those messages. Not a single line...

So no additional information where it might get stuck.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Quack

• crashtest

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
  • In the meantime I have made a few more attempts and passed the following kernel params via GRUB:

1) See if I have a problem with timing

"boot-delay=1000 io-delay=udelay nomodeset rootdelay=2 rootwait=10 usb-storage.delay-use=2"

2) Try to get more information

"debug earlycon ignore-loglevel keep-bootcon"

None of this has led to any significant change.

With (1) the NAS hangs just as sporadically.

And with (2) I got no log output when the boot process hung.

(Of corse I got plenty of output when the boot process was successful)

Oh and just to anticipate any obvious questions:

I have checked the HW of the USB stick (at least 2x). It is fine.

I used a different stick anyway --> same behavior.

I tried different USB ports of the NAS --> same behavior.