Posts by ZanosG

No need to be sorry. I went and installed Windows 7 on the computer. Shared the drives on the network I needed. Downloaded Create Synchronicity to run backups and scheduled those back ups to run every morning. Its been working fine with not problems. It was 10 times easier to set up than this complicated linux nonsense.

Peace out. I dont think ill ever come back to this.

Look at page 64 and following of this guide: http://www.mediafire.com/file/…9/GettingStarted.pdf/file

If I can do it, anybody can.

Ok thanks that didnt work. I tested it by using two USB sticks. I shared both through SMB. I copied some data to USB 1 and set the job to run. When that was completed I tried to open USB 2 from my desktop computer and it said that it was unable to mount the share. OMV Web page shows data on it and shared. I tried to remove the share and add it back in and that didnt work. I used to be a trucker too and I think thats why I have lost patience with these types of things that dont work. I rather just pay for something that it does. I am gonna go back to something that I know that works. Consider this thread closed. Thanks.

Thanks. But that seems to be too complicated. I cant even find how to install it. When I go to plugins and type rsync nothing comes up. Is there anything other than OMV that isnt this Linux complicated mess? I dont mind paying for it.

What would people use to back up shared folders? I have 2 disks in my OMV machine that I would like to set up so that it automatically makes a back up of disk A to disk B. Any changes made in disk A would be made in disk B automatically. I have been searching online but I am only finding how to make a system back up. Im not interested in that or any encryption. I just want a folder back up and thats it. Thanks.