Posts by HannesJo

Why not? I don't think it's a question of giving out info or not. I mean, this is no classified information or so.

GitHub is simply said a platform for open source software and there you can look into the source of many free projects. But since you already have to ask, you probably can't do anything with it anyway.

May I ask from what source the statement originates from?

From my head. We are not even in Beta state, therefore I would not expect a stable release within the next months. Maybe not even this year.

You can already compile and test 6 alpha from GitHub. However it will still take some time until it’s production ready. Most likely not before Q3, maybe Q4.

Complete NOOB here. Setup OMV 5.5 on Raspberry Pi 4 following the new user guide. When I try to copy files to the shared folder from Windows 10 or Linux, get the "destination folder access denied" error.

When "hannesjo" says it has to do with Linux permissions, are you saying I should change the permissions for the shared drive from the Raspberry Pi?

Never set "Guest allowed" or "Only guests" in your shares unless you want everyone in your network/wifi being able to access.

In OMV you have two different areas to define your permissions. In Shared Folders view you can open "ACL" dialog to check if the correct owner is set and has full access. (You only need the lower half area here. Dont use the checkboxes in the upper half.) Doing so you grant your user access on the operating system level.

The second area is also in Shared Folders view. Click privileges. Here you use the checkboxes to grant your user full access as well. This setting is for services like smb/cifs.

Your user must have full access in both of them.

In the smb/cifs -> share settings, set Public to NO. Windows will ask for your login credentials when you try to connect. Just enter the data of the OMV user that owns the share.