OpenVPN Setup

• Hi all,

I've had my RaspberyPi running OMV4 for a while. Recenty the OpenVPN plugin got released, and I'd like to use it to access my NAS even when I'm not connected to my own network.

I've managed to setup the OpenVPN plugin, however, I'm struggling with the right configuration. I have already check most of the tutorials and posts, but I can't figure it out. This is my first time setting up a VPN connection to my own network, so I'd appreciate the help as I can't seem to figure out the correct DNS settings.

What I've done so far:

• Enabled OpenVPN in OMV, local IP 192.168.0.8 (fixed)
      • VPN address 10.8.0.0
      • mask 255.255.255.0
      • PAM authentication off
      • DNS server: no idea
      • public address: No-IP hostname
    • Opened port 1194 on my router (TP-Link TL-WR840N)
    • Requested No-IP DDNS hostname
    • Exported certificate from OMV and opened with OpenVPN

However, I get the following OpenVPN output:

Sun May 20 15:39:28 2018 TCP/UDP: Preserving recently used remote address: [AF_INET]94.209.48.38:1194
    Sun May 20 15:39:28 2018 Socket Buffers: R=[65536->65536] S=[65536->65536]
    Sun May 20 15:39:28 2018 UDP link local: (not bound)
    Sun May 20 15:39:28 2018 UDP link remote: [AF_INET]94.209.48.38:1194
    Sun May 20 15:39:28 2018 MANAGEMENT: >STATE:1526823568,WAIT,,,,,,

"Goats are like mushrooms, if you shoot a duck, I'm scared of toasters."

• I used the same Settings for the setup as you did.
    Can you access OMV via the DNS Name?
    Did you replace the sample OpenVPN config with your personal? You can also Check it with any editor.

• I'm omv4 new user and I installed OpenVPN plug-in 4.0 and when I want to change settings every time I click save i get this message:

Missing 'required' attribute 'gateway_interface' , because cannot set any value in the required field

What is going wrong and how can I fix it?

Thanks