openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

News

• New

Hello,

I'm quite new to OMV family, actually I'm in the deployment process of my first machine. I've looked on google and tried to look on forum, no luck with either approach. If my question was answered, please point me to solution and I'll delete this thread.

Short question:
    Can I grant user access to web gui plugin/service menu?

Long question:
    I'm currently setting up OMV machine as a upgrade from synology machine. One of requirements was to allow users to use equivalent of "Download station". Of course I can make it happen with "BitTorrent" and "Downloader" plugins/services, however I'm unable to give user access to gui of those services. I'm unable to give user gui access to anything to be honest. I know there is RCP for BitTorrent, but that seems like a workaround, not a proper solution to problem. Can I grant user access to web gui plugin/service menu?

Regards
    Christopher
  • New

I'm wanting to upgrade my v2 (Stone Burner) to v3. I understand I need to verify that the plugins I use in v2 need to be available for v3 before proceeding. I'm surprised to see no iSCSI Target plugin or LVM2 plugin. A couple questions:
    1) Is that to say, v3 does not provide iSCSI target services?
    2) does v3 have iSCSI initiator so I can still mount my storage located on an iSCSI target?
    3) does v3 *NOT* have LVM at all? That seems very odd - thinking it might be built in and does not require a plugin?
  • New

So i have the following setup. OMV3, because I need the iscsi target plugin.
    I need to use ZFS zvols for iscsi lun devices.

When i create a new volume in ZFS I'm able to add it as a LUN device. I see it as a block device as expected and everything works.