Disaster scenario with rclone (hypothetical)

• Hi! I'm new to OMV, migrating from TrueNAS and bringing my zfs tanks along.

I've been setting up my "data protection" scheduled tasks today, using Docker rclone image and it got me thinking.

Let's say I have a local storage of very valuable information (e.g. digitalised movies from 1960) on a RAID1 array. A daily cron job makes a backup of that using "docker run -v /mnt/movies:/data ... rclone ..." to a remote location. I think it's not bad, so far, probably what most people would do?

Then while I'm on vacation a power surge (or a cat) kills both drive bays with my RAID1, which OMV informs me about over email. No problem I think, there's a backup. The server reboots, and later that day, runs the rclone command. Since docker doesn't mind that "/mnt/movies" is now empty (or non-existent), it happily erases the content of my remote backup.

Clearly, returning from vacation and trying to enjoy a movie night of "Dr No", I am up for a disappointment.

Did I miss the plot somewhere? Is this something that people on this forum have a remedy for?

While at it, I'm also curious how others set up their rclone tasks. Perhaps some examples, how does one get error notifications, track when it last succeeded, spread them automatically over hours (rather than concentrating all tasks at midnight), finally, take an automated filesystem snapshot before cloning?

OMV 6.x | Docker etc | CSE-826 X10DRH-C 2U 12xLFF

• chente

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
    • Offizieller Beitrag

My personal opinion is that the best backup resides on a drive that is not connected to anything.

If your backup is automatic and the destination is online you will always have risks.

Therefore, for my most valuable data I use a daily automatic remote copy (Wireguard+rsync), compressed, versioned and encrypted (Duplicati). But I also do manual backups (weekly, sometimes monthly) on a server that I only turn on for this purpose, the rest of the time it's off.