Email notification question

• Hi Folks,

I'm relatively new to OMV5 and I can't get the email notifications to work.

Is there a thread that explains it in COMPLETE detail for the person that has absolutely no knowledge in such things? Keep in mind that many of you understand the jargon, I have no clue what SMTP is? You all are very knowledgeable in such things. I have none. An explanation that seems simple to you is like Greek to me, so be very detailed.

Thanks

Bart

• Gmail is my email provider.

Regarding the link that you have provided:

That’s a perfect example of what I mean about not having the level of knowledge that you all have. There is not enough information in that link example for the new user. What is sender email? Does that mean I use a personal gmail address? What username do I use? What app and what password?

• Offizieller Beitrag

What is sender email?

That is the email that shall appear as sender of the notification mail.

What username do I use?

That is the username to login at gmail. In the case of gmail this is also an email address.

What app and what password?

You need a so called app password from gmail if you have enabled two factor authentication.

https://support.google.com/mail/answer/185833?hl=en

This allows the email agent that OMV uses to login to gmail and send your email without a second factor.

If you have not enabled two factor authentication (or disabled it) you can use your "normal" password to log into gmail.

• It has to be the same address or google will not let you send it.

All it does is to simulate you as a user sending an EMail, so that is what you have to configure.

If you got help in the forum and want to give something back to the project click here (omv) or here (scroll down) (plugins) and write up your solution for others.