OMV 5 boots in emergency mode, cannot access web GUI

• Hello dear OMV folks,

I am a complete newbie to both Linux and OMV, so please use short words and long sentences. I looked through the forum for similar issues, but after going through the proposed solutions and encountering yet more problems, I decided to start a new thread.

I made an OMV-based NAS to have a secure location to store photos of my newborn daughter. I installed OMV 5.6.13 on a 128 GB Verbatim SSD drive and use two 4TB Seagate IronWolf disks in a RAID1 array for data storage. All disks were purchased new, are around 7 months old now. I also installed a Plex docker/portainer and have been thrilled with the results so far. The system has been working for around 6 months without a glitch, I only needed to restart the Plex container every once in a while.

In mid-August, we left for a holiday and I decided to turn the NAS off. After coming back last week, I wanted to upload the photos but could not access the web interface. I connected a screen and a keyboard to the NAS and saw the following message:

Code
    [FAILED] Failed to start File System Check on [one of the two 4TB drives]. 
    See 'systemctl status...
    [DEPEND] Dependency failed for [same 4TB drive]
    [...] some more linuxy stuff
    You are in emergency mode. After logging in, type "journalctl -xb" to view system logs, "systemctl reboot" to reboot, "systemctl default" or "exit" to boot into default mode.
    Give root password for maintenance (or press Control-D to continue):

The system logs were not very helpful to me as they displayed 15+ screens of stuff I do not understand. After finding this thread, I tried to do what Zoki said:

Zitat

mount -o remount,rw /

comment out the mergerfs from /etc/fstab

reboot