Best drives for family photo storage: HDD of SSD?

• Hi all,

I'm Mike and I'm new to omv.

I've have a Synology DS107 that is disconnected for some years now and since then I store all our family photo's on 1 external drive and run a sync program to another external drive.

But...... 3 weeks ago the drive with the original photo's died on me and the last time I synced was about a year ago.

So....I have a Raspberry Pi 4 8GB laying in the shelve here doing nothing. And I would like to turn that into a NAS with 2x2TB external drives (both have the same files so they are a copy of each other (never know what RAID config that is)).

I'm guessing I need a powered USB hub in order to avoid the drive underpowered issue.

But my main question is: what drives should I buy??? HDD or SSD?

I don't want to pay to much because then I could buy a new Synology or a Qnap NAS.

Hope you have some good suggestions for me.

Thanks in advance.

Greetings from the Netherlands!

Mike

• chente

Hat das Thema freigeschaltet.
    • Offizieller Beitrag

And I would like to turn that into a NAS with 2x2TB external drives (both have the same files so they are a copy of each other (never know what RAID config that is)).

Don't use Raid, sync with rsync regularly.

I'm guessing I need a powered USB hub in order to avoid the drive underpowered issue.

Yeah.

But my main question is: what drives should I buy??? HDD or SSD?

If you are looking for reliability, a good brand and a model prepared for NAS is more important than whether it is an SSD or HDD. Western Digital Red are the ones I like the most but there are others.

I don't want to pay to much because then I could buy a new Synology or a Qnap NAS.

The price of hard drives is irrelevant in this sense, Qnap or Synology NAS sell them without drives.

• what do you mean by "don't use RAID"? 8|

Isn't it mend to copy have a mirrored drive and to check if file get corrupt and get good once from the mirror drive? :/